Montclair State University Network for Educational Renewal


Montclair State University Network for Educational Renewal Participating Districts

The MSUNER is a school-university partnership dedicated to the simultaneous renewal of schools and teacher education through collaboration among Montclair State University and its partner school districts.

The importance of field-based teacher education to the overall quality and success of teacher education cannot be overestimated. Our expectation is that all students will have their student teaching experiences in Network schools with Clinical Faculty members. This means our student teachers can learn from experienced, highly effective teachers who understand and exemplify teaching for critical thinking. This also enables us to place our student teachers in schools where teachers collaborate with one another, take reflection seriously, understand the moral dimensions of teaching, and see themselves as learners as well as teachers.

We promote a co-teaching model for the student teaching experience. This allows the cooperating and student teacher to share the classroom responsibilities and give more individual attention to the students. 

The 29 current MSUNER partner districts are listed below:

District County
Belleville Essex
Bloomfield Essex
Caldwell/West Caldwell Essex
Cedar Grove Essex
Clifton Passaic
East Orange Essex
Elizabeth Essex
Englewood Bergen
Fair Lawn Bergen
Glen Ridge Essex
Hawthorne Passaic
Hillside Union
Kearny Hudson
Little Falls Passaic
Livingston Essex
Maywood Bergen
Montclair Essex
Newark Essex
Nutley Essex
Parsippany/Troy Hills Morris
Pascack Valley Regional Bergen
Passaic Valley Regional Passaic
Randolph Morris
Ridgewood Bergen
Rockaway Township Morris
South Orange/Maplewood Essex
Teaneck Bergen
Tenafly Bergen
West Orange Essex

© 2018   Created by Deirdre MacKnight.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service